Board of Trustees Burton School District Contact Us Superintendent's Message
Our Schools District Boundary Map SARCs
Parent Links Calendars Lunch Menus District English Learner Committee Local Control Funding Formula & Local Control and Accountability Plan
Directory Business Services District Administration Educational Services Human Resources Information Technology Maintenance, Operations and Transportation Nutrition Services Student Support / Special Education
Aesop Webmail
Your Board

Thank you for your interest in the Burton School District Board of Education  

The Burton School District Board of Education invites you to attend one of our bi-monthly, regularly scheduled board meetings. Attending a meeting will provide you the opportunity to better understand how your school district operates. Please remember that public schools belong to you, and your involvement is strongly encouraged. Community participation and open lines of communication are vital components to a strong school system.    

Your School Board  

The Burton School District Board of Education is comprised of five members elected to four-year terms by the voters of Porterville. By establishing and implementing policy, the board is dedicated to ensuring the success of every student in the district through clear, concise direction to the superintendent. The board is responsible for hiring the superintendent and instructs him/her to focus every district staff member and all resources on the goal of improving and maintaining student achievement.

Questions and Suggestions 

The Burton School District Board of Education welcomes your questions, ideas and suggestions. With help from the community, the district can achieve its goal of providing continued excellence in public education. Educating our children requires a joint effort of parents, community and school resources. Please be a part of the process any way you can.

Contacting Board Members

The five elected board members can be reached as a group by sending an email to the following address:



Jay Rice






Shelbie Akin 






John Burkey





Eddie Hernandez






Phillip Giannetto





Board Member Voting Boundaries